UK researchers join Rubin commissioning team

UK contributions to Rubin commissioning are underway

A team of UK scientists have recently joined the Vera C. Rubin Observatory’s System Integration Test and Commissioning (SITCom) group, as part of a major expansion of the observatory’s commissioning effort. We will be working seamlessly with US and international colleagues in the next 2 years as the construction project is completed and the telescope and its supporting infrastructure are commissioned.

UK contributions will focus on the active optics sub-system, and scientific verification of the system using on-sky data. The full announcement of the expanded SITCom team is available here, and the latest high level timeline for the construction project and commissioning process is available here

General questions about the UK’s contribution to commissioning should be directed to Graham Smith (LSST:UK Commissioning Scientist), and the UK team is listed below:

 Active optics commissioning:
 * Gavin Dalton (University of Oxford and RALSpace), Will Sutherland (Queen Mary University of London).

 Scientific verification:
 * Aaron Watkins (University of Hertfordshire): low surface brightness science
 * Jon Loveday (University of Sussex) and Boris Leistedt (Imperial): angular clustering
 * Dan Ryczanowski and Graham Smith (University of Birmingham): strong lensing, image quality and difference imaging
 * Tom Wilson and Tim Naylor (University of Exeter): science validation of astrometry through cross-matching
 * Raphael Shirley (University of Southampton): multi-wavelength data fusion
 * Nicholas Walton (Cambridge Astronomical Survey Unit): astrometric and photometric calibration
 * Daniel Weatherill, Jeff Tseng, Farrukh Azfar, Ian Shipsey (University of Oxford): detector characterization, camera slow control, and data quality monitoring

Last updated: 01 Nov 2022 at 15:35